Minor Heron - Taos Poetry Circus - Anne MacNaughton


MINOR HERON presents 22 years of live performances by the internationally acclaimed TAOS POETRY CIRCUS, available on DVD.

Nanao Sakaki

Poet Nanao Sakaki

The annual TPC poetry festival produced by poets Anne MacNaughton and Peter Rabbit ran from 1982 to 2003 and showcased both established poets and those early in their career.

Performances include the famous WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP POETRY BOUT, the event that originated modern competitive poetic performance. Additional Reading Series are CONTEMPORARY VOICES, featuring cutting edge poetics; GLOBAL VOICES featuring poets who work outside the American mainstream; the NEW MEXICO INVITATIONAL featuring Southwestern poets; TAG TEAM BOUTS featuring four poets in two competitive teams; the OPEN POETRY SLAM that brought competitors from around the country; and the YOUTH POETRY SLAM that led to the seminal statewide contest for teenagers, and fostered the national event in the 90s.

Some of the poets featured here include Allen Ginsberg, Sherman Alexie, Saul Williams, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Ed Dorn, Simon Ortiz, Victor Hernandez Cruz, Wanda Coleman, Bob Holman, Ed Sanders, Sekou Sundiata, Quincy Troupe, Nanao Sakaki, Patricia Smith, Jayne Cortez, Ntozake Shange, Andrei Codrescu, Amiri Baraka, Ishmael Reed, John Trudell, Anne Waldman, Jim Carroll, Jessica Hagedorn, Alice Notley, Anselm Hollo, Michael McClure, and many others. Poetry by a selection of poets as mixed as America!


Peter Rabbit and Juliette Torrez,
Taos Poetry Circus, 2000. Photo by John Rudiak.

Mail order poetry performances on DVD are available. Buy now – we accept purchase orders.

Questions? Send us an email at: orders @ minorheron.org